About Italian Greyhound Club of America

About Italian Greyhound Club of America

The Italian Greyhound Club of America was founded in 1954 and consists of serious IG breeders, exhibitors and other aficionados all over the United States who are interested in learning as much as possible about the Italian Greyhound and helping to dispense that information to the general public, along with some of the love they share with this charismatic little dog.

The IGCA exists mainly to further the best interests of the breed. We organize and present specialty shows in different parts of the country; plan educational programs for breeders, judges and other fanciers; sponsor research on genetic and other health problems; distribute breed information to newcomers to IG’s and to those who want to know about our dogs; maintain a breed rescue organization and attempt to establish a network of ethical, responsible breeders to whom inquiries can be referred.

On occasion a need arises for possible change in the breed standard, at which time the national breed club, with the input of its members, becomes the final decision maker as to whether or not there should be a change. Prospective members must have five years involvement with Italian Greyhounds, be in good standing with the AKC, and have the sponsorship of two current members in good standing.

Italian Greyhound Club of America 2015‐2017 Board Members

President ‐ Mary Ann Smart, Roanoke, TX
1st Vice President ‐ Dalena Franklin, Rochester, NY
2nd Vice President ‐ Vikki Landes, Oakland, CA
Board Secretary – James R. (“Bob”) Steele, Jr., Pittsburgh, PA
Corresponding Secretary ‐ Lilian Barber, Murrieta, CA
Treasurer ‐ Marsha Pugh, Hughesville, MD
AKC Delegate ‐ Carole Plesur, Zephr Hills, FL
Board of Directors:
Darlene Wallace, Alto, MI
Cese Resnick, Leander, TX
Jessica Hekl, Palisades, NY
Janet Beckett, Abilene, TX

Committees & Committee Chairs

Breeder’s Education – Karen Thayne
Budget Committee – Mary Ellen LaRochelle and Dick Heliker
By‐Law Revision – James R. (“Bob”) Steele, Jr.
Electronic Communication – Chelsea James
Ethics Committee – Dick Heliker
Futurity – Debbie Fuxa
Health – Layle Griffioen
Historian – Angela Leonard
Hound Events – Terri Jones
Judge’s Education – Cecilia Resnick
Legislation – Jan Goin
Public Education – Carol Smith
Rescue Liason – Mary Ellen LaRochelle
Specialty Guidelines – Marsha Pugh
Sunshine Committee – June Mastracola
Versatility Awards – Vikki Landes

Historical Archives

IGCA Board of Directors from 1951 ‐ pdf file ‐Thanks to Frank Fretwell and Lilian Barber for providing IGCA Historian, Angela Leonard, with the data for this digital record.